ROAD COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING April 4th, 2017 6:15 P.M.

Present: John Watley, Jerry Taylor and Nathan Futch. Absent: Glenn Hutto. Also present was Charles Sawyer, Mike Jones, Lane Rugg, Stan Smith and Bruce Hampton.

Mr. Watley called the meeting to order. Mr. Watley led the group in prayer.

Motion Mr. Taylor, seconded by Mr. Futch and declared adopted by unanimous roll call vote of the Committee to approve the agenda with one addition:

- 5 Discuss and make recommendations, if necessary, on request from Town of Farmerville regarding Bad Eye Road.
- 6 Discuss and make recommendations, if necessary, on request from Town of Marion regarding coal mix.

Motion made by Mr. Taylor, seconded by Mr. Futch and declared adopted by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the March 7^{th} , 2017 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

A brief discussion was held on the Asphalt Zipper. The Finance Committee met earlier and the Secretary-Treasurer will get with the auditor and see if the equipment can be purchased out of Road Maintenance. Mr. Hampton said the equipment will have to be purchased on state contract or join the HGAC co-op. If it is purchased through state contract then it will not have to be bid out. If the HGAC co-op is joined then it will not have to be bid out. Caterpillar has furnished information on something similar, but it is not the same thing.

A few questions were asked about staying under the bid law. According to the Road Superintendent's calculations, there is no question that we will stay under the bid law when we take the asphalt up. The only time the bid law may come into play is when a section of road is put back down. **No action taken.**

Motion Mr. Futch, seconded by Mr. Taylor to recommend to the jury that we assist the Town of Farmerville in grading Bad Eye Road.

Motion Mr. Taylor, seconded by Mr. Futch to recommend to the jury that we provide the Town of Marion with a load of coal mix.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Mr. Watley declared the meeting adjourned upon motion by Mr. Taylor and duly seconded by Mr. Futch on this the 4th day of April, 2017.

John Watley, Chairman Paula Strickland, Secretary-Treasurer