EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE GENERAL DISCUSSION December 15th, 2016 – 6:00 P.M.

Present: Charles Sawyer, Jerry Taylor, Glenn Hutto and Derek Kennedy. Absent: None. Also present were Stan Smith, Mike Jones, John Watley and Bruce Hampton (legal counsel).

Mr. Sawyer called the meeting to order. Mr. Sawyer led the group in prayer.

Motion Mr. Hutto, seconded by Mr. Kennedy and declared adopted by unanimous vote to approve the agenda with one addition:

5 Discuss and make recommendations about the National Flood Insurance Program Responsibilities.

Motion Mr. Taylor, seconded Mr. Hutto to approve of the minutes of the August 11, 2016 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

Discussion was held concerning the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program Funding Allocation Announcement. In order to use these funds the parish must contribute twenty-five percent of the grant. According to GOHSEP, these monies can be used for flood reduction, drainage improvements, property acquisition, structure elevation, mitigation reconstruction, safe room construction, retrofitting of existing buildings, and infrastructure retrofit. Motion Mr. Kennedy, seconded Mr. Hutto and declared adopted by unanimous vote to have David Dumas proceed with cost estimates for the following projects: Union Parish Detention Center Roof, Union Parish Courthouse, Scotts Hideaway Road, Williams Colony Road, Dean Road, and any type of equipment that would tie-in with loss mitigation strategies. This does not limit the ability of the Police Jury to add additional projects in the future.

Discussion was held concerning the National Flood Insurance Program Responsibilities. Motion Mr. Taylor, seconded Mr. Hutto to send Lane Rugg to investigate the list of properties that FEMA requested information on and authorize David Dumas to work with the secretary-treasurer on this project.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Mr. Sawyer declared the meeting adjourned upon motion by Mr. Kennedy and duly seconded by Mr. Hutto on this the 15th day of December, 2016.

Charles Sawyer, Chairman Paula Strickland, Secretary-Treasurer