LANDFILL COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING February 6th, 2018 5:30 P.M.

Present: Stan Smith, Derek Kennedy and Nathan Futch. Absent: None. Also present were Jerry Taylor, Richard Phelps, Shorty Matthews, Mike Jones, Lanny Parker, Greg Gossler and Bruce Hampton.

Mr. Kennedy called the meeting to order. Mr. Smith led the group in prayer.

Motion made by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Futch and declared adopted by unanimous vote to approve the agenda as written.

Motion made by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Futch and declared adopted by unanimous vote to adopt the minutes of the December 5th, 2017 meeting.

A brief discussion was held on the purchase of additional land for the landfill. Once the new cell is opened additional land will need to be purchased. According to the engineer dirt will have to be pulled from somewhere and it will be extremely expensive to purchase and haul. Weyerhaeuser has land surrounding the landfill that might be available to purchase. The layout of the landfill is basically an L shape and with the addition of the land it would square up the property. When an offer is made to Weyerhaeuser a description of the land and a price per acre needs to be included. The Tax Assessor has supplied information on how much their land has sold for in the past. Currently the landfill has approximately 212 acres. Mr. Kennedy suggests buying as much land as the jury can afford because the EPA regulations will continue to get stricter. Motion made by Mr. Smith, seconded by Mr. Futch, to recommend to the jury to offer Weyheauser the amount of \$2,250 per acre for the purchase of land adjoining the landfill. Motion carried unanimously.

A discussion was held on the meeting with DOTD which took place on January 25. At that time a five-year time line was set in place to have the dumpsters moved off the state right-of-ways. DOTD has since asked the jury to provide them with a list of five dumpsters that could immediately be moved for safety reasons. Five locations were picked based on their proximity to the road or being located in a curve. The following locations were picked: (1) Highway 827 in District 2; (2) Highway 3121 (Taylortown) in District 3; (3) Highway 552 (Point) in District 5; (4) Highway 2 East (Crossroads) in District 7 and (5) Highway 2 West in District 4. It has been suggested that the public be given a thirty-day notice in the local papers.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Mr. Kennedy declared the meeting adjourned upon motion by Mr. Smith and duly seconded by Mr. Futch on this the 6th day of February, 2018.

Derek Kennedy, Co-Chairman Paula Strickland, Secretary-Treasurer