COURTHOUSE COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING June 4, 2019 5:30 P.M.

Present: Lanny Parker, Charles Sawyer, John Watley and Stan Smith. Also present, Jerry W. Taylor and Nancy Bergeron with the *Ruston Daily Leader*.

Mr. Parker called the meeting to order. Mr. Watley led the group in prayer.

Motion Mr. Sawyer, seconded by Mr. Watley and declared adopted by unanimous roll call vote of the Committee to approve the agenda as written.

Motion Mr. Watley, seconded by Mr. Sawyer and declared adopted by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the May 23rd, 2019 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

A discussion was held regarding the courthouse siding. Mr. Smith stated that he received a phone call from Mr. Dumas regarding the courthouse siding project. Mr. Dumas stated that the courthouse siding was his project and he had done a considerable amount of work on it. The Secretary/Treasurer presented an application for the Union Parish Courthouse Wind Retrofit II Project Application that Mr. Dumas had previously prepared. Mr. Dumas is recommending using dryvit to replace the marble at an approximate cost of \$ 335,178.73.

Mr. Taylor addressed the committee and said that he met with Mr. Dumas on April 24th. Mr. Dumas said during the meeting that the courthouse siding was not a viable FEMA project and he had exhausted all efforts for funding and he was done with this project. Mr. Taylor said the agreement with Mr. Dumas was he could keep whatever FEMA projects he was working on. Mr. Taylor is of the opinion that the jury honored the agreement with Mr. Dumas and once FEMA said the siding was not a viable project that released the jury from the agreement with Mr. Dumas.

Motion Mr. Watley, seconded by Mr. Sawyer to table the courthouse siding issue and the committee will meet with Mr. Dumas on June 13, 2019 @ 4:00 PM. Motion carried unanimously.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Mr. Parker declared the meeting adjourned upon motion by Mr. Watley and duly seconded by Mr. Sawyer on this the 4th day of June, 2019.

Lanny Parker, Chairman Paula Strickland, Secretary-Treasurer