ROAD COMMITTEE MINUTES OF MEETING May 4th, 2020 4:30 P.M.

Present: Ceis Nyegaard, Ben Bridges and Nathan Pilgreen. Absent: John Watley. Also present were Johnny Buckley, DeWayne Ramsey, Lane Rugg, Brenda Abercrombie and Paul Riley.

Mr. Nyegaard called the meeting to order. Mr. Nyegaard led the group in prayer.

Motion Mr. Bridges, seconded by Mr. Pilgreen and declared adopted by unanimous roll call vote of the Committee to approve the agenda as written.

Motion Mr. Pilgreen, seconded by Mr. Bridges and declared adopted by unanimous vote to approve the minutes of the February 4th, 2020 meeting. Motion carried unanimously.

A brief discussion was held regarding the Grand Operating bond issue. Motion Mr. Bridges, seconded by Mr. Pilgreen to table this issue until a later date. Motion carried unanimously.

A lengthy discussion was held regarding the Union Parish Police Jury three (3) year road program for 2020, 2021 and 2022. Mr. Riley addressed the commission and said per the Parish Transportation Fund Act a three-year plan must be approved by the jury each year. The following three (3) year program was agreed on:

Year 1 - 2020

Dean Road Mosleys Bluff Road Mill Road Aubrey Road Brenda Road Ouchley Road Union Cemetery Road (portion)

Year 2 - 2021

N. Spillway Road – Part 1 N. Spillway Road – Part 2 Love Road Union Cemetery Road (portion) Burford Road Jesse Guinn Road

Year 3 - 2022

Littleton Loop Road Wes Wilhite Road Bobby Smith Road McGee Road Mike Taylor Road Bird Road Motion Mr. Pilgreen, seconded by Mr. Bridges to recommend to the full jury to accept the three (3) year road program as presented by Paul Riley with Riley Company. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion Mr. Bridges, seconded by Mr. Pilgreen to recommend to the full jury to hire Riley Company for the 2020 Union Parish Road Program. Motion carried unanimously.

A discussion was held regarding the road department secretary and the way the reports are being prepared. In February Mr. Bridges had proposed that Mrs. Williams prepare one (1) master list with complaints and the resolution of those complaints. Ideally the list would include road names instead of road numbers. In light of Mrs. Williams' resignation that reporting practice had been put on hold, but hopefully the new secretary will be able to implement something. The master list would be a very useful tool for reporting practices. Mr. Bridges would like someone to give a report during the monthly meetings on what each department is doing. This would include Road and Landfill. It would help to present a report at the monthly meetings to keep the public informed on what the parish is doing.

Mr. Pilgreen addressed the committee regarding a road department secretary. Mr. Pilgreen would like the new secretary to be located at the Annex. Mr. Pilgreen said this would be the perfect time to transition the new secretary to the Annex. Mr. Pilgreen is worried about having the secretary and inmates together. Mr. Rugg addressed the committee and said it would not be feasible to have the secretary in a different location than the road department. Mr. Rugg also said that he has never left the secretary alone with the inmates. Mr. Rugg will work towards a more secure environment for the new secretary.

There being no further business to come before the committee, Mr. Nyegaard declared the meeting adjourned upon motion by Mr. Bridges and duly seconded by Mr. Pilgreen on this the 4th day of May, 2020.

Ceis Nyegaard, Chairman Paula Strickland, Secretary-Treasurer